Poets logo

Blue Bird

Inner Ramblings

By Whitney RodenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

My self-esteem has never been great

Then I met you and thought, "It's not too late!"

"I can finally spread my wings and fly"

You made me feel like the only bird in the sky

My wings stretched and I learned to soar

To believe, in me, you saw something more

But when I trusted in this belief

I was shot down, and in my grief

I looked up at the pitiless sky

And saw other pretty birds that doth there fly

And while you may not love these other birds

Still my tiny heart stings and burns

You told me you saw none but me

It was a lie, now I see

I was a fool and believed you with all these things:

My soul, my heart, and my mind too

No wonder my feathers have always been blue

The color of sadness, the color of truth

So, I lie on this hard earth and cry over you

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Whitney Roden

My name is Whitney and I have been an avid reader since I was 3. I am currently going to school to be an educator for elementary and collaborative students. I am also a painter and photographer. I hope you enjoy reading my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kylara2 years ago

    I really enjoyed this one. Thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.