Poets logo

Blue

And what it means

By NatPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Blue
Photo by Andrzej Kryszpiniuk on Unsplash

I woke up blue.

Even through my confused mind

And tired eyes, I could feel it.

I could feel the blue.

And it was all over.

It wasn’t coming from my core,

but it was slowly seeping from my soul.

My thoughts swimming in an ocean of it.

By Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

I rolled over in my bed,

and the blue clung to me.

Wrapped my heart like a childhood blanket.

Even my aura was stained with it.

I climbed out of bed and looked in the mirror to be sure,

to confirm what I already knew.

To see what I didn’t believe.

And it all gave me pause.

Every breath I took was saturated in the open hue.

Every movement was coated in the deep shade.

Even when I stretched my tired bones,

it slithered through my body, my blood.

By Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

The blue walked as I did,

not behind me, but with me.

Its footsteps in mine.

It’s strides helping me keep time.

It led me.

I didn’t know where we would go,

but I was not afraid.

In fact, it made me smile like nothing ever has.

By NASA on Unsplash

Because when I woke up, I felt blue.

But not blue like I was sad.

But blue like rain, like a giant wave.

I felt blue, like a mighty hurricane.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Nat

I've always enjoyed writing but have had a hard time sharing in the past. I'm hoping Joining Vocal will change that!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.