Poets logo

Blooming

"The true art of memory is the art of attention." - Samuel Johnson

By Ess LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Blooming
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

The true art of memory is the art of attention.

- Samuel Johnson

Blooming

I never thought I was the sort of person

to remember the names of flowers.

But as I pass, I am bleeding on crocuses

and cowslips.

I do not remember

the why,

but god, I could tell you the color

of every insect I’ve ever seen

crawling on my geraniums.

I am sure they will find me

with tent worms in my hair,

beetles bedded under my eyelids,

sorry that I’ve crushed the snapdragons

and forgotten to let the cat out.

By that time the pearly wild onions

will have pushed through the skin

of my palms, a carpet of violets

triumphing over my belly, soft

as eiderdown.

I will be something

people are surprised they remember,

the sudden name of a flower,

the precise number of petals

on the final gardenia, the white sky.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Ess Lee

Ess (she/her) is a writer and dramaturg from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania currently residing in Paris, France. Follow her on Twitter @essleewrites.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.