Poets logo

Blood on My Hands

This poem is about being pushed to your limit and needing a mental health day.

By Amanda ZylstraPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

There will be no blood on my hands when we part ways.

I am used to being a caregiver.

I give too much of myself to others and get nothing back in return.

Like psychic vampires, people suck all the empathy from me until nothing remains.

Until I am at my breaking point.

And I question why I let them do this to me?

I simply feel for people too much.

I run around with a bucket of water putting out the fires of others.

Solving problems I feel only I can solve.

And neglecting my own needs

And my own happiness.

Everyone else is always more important.

Until the day I learned to say "No."

The day I put myself first.

I need a mental health day.

A vacation on the beach to stare at the waves and deal with my own problems.

A margarita and a fancy datebook.

I need to plan my own future away from others.

I got to my breaking point and I broke.

Like a passive-aggressive personality type, the cup is now full and overflowing.

I will now be exploited with all the stressors of my world.

All the emotions I tried to repress will come dripping out.

Like a bomb finally going off in my head.

No, I am not okay.

My mind is broken.

I am trapped.

A large boulder just rolled over me and I am stuck here with all my repressed memories.

I now know I can not move this large rock on my own.

I must reach out for others to save my soul.

The same way I have saved theirs.

Only it's hard to ask for help.

It's hard to say I can not handle this on my own.

I need people.

I need a personal assistant.

I need a nap.

I need clarity and guidance.

I am lost in the jungle and vines are wrapped around my legs holding me in place as a lone monkey gives me a stare down and then walks away unimpressed.

But there will be no blood on my hands when we part ways.

The only blood on my hands is my own.

I was so focused on helping others,

That I forgot about myself.

I am now doing shots of vodka with my demons,

and trying to resolve my own sanity.

I am washing my own blood off my hands.

*This poem is featured in "Peeling Sanity."

Check out my Author Page on Facebook!

Check out my Poetry!

Check out my Music Articles!

Check out my Beauty Articles!

Check out my Makeup Articles!

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Zylstra

Cat Lover, Poetry Writer, Tea Drinker, Skincare and Beauty Product Obsessed. Check out my poetry collection "Passing Skeletons" available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.