Poets logo

Blinding Light

I am light. Blinding. The light you see at the very end.

By Whitney Lynn HayesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Blinding Light
Photo by Bernd Dittrich on Unsplash

You see my nose. I smell your fear.

You see my lips. I can taste your bile.

You see my forehead. My third eye sees right through you.

See my curls? They reach up and connect to the Most High.

Foul demon.

Look into my eyes and feel the stare of my ancestors penetrate the shell that would house a soul.

Look at my skin and know they have helped me to crawl from the earth to rise up.

Look at me.

I am light. Blinding. The white you see at the very end.

Look at me and be blinded with pure God touched enlightenment.

Be blinded.

Don't see my worth. I'll see it for you.

Don't see my potential. I'll see it for you.

Don't see my smile. You don't deserve it.

art
1

About the Creator

Whitney Lynn Hayes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.