Poets logo

Blessed Breath

Every Breath is a New Day

By Jake LoPrestiPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2

Yes...letting you know I feel so blessed

Every time I take a deep breath to my chest

Every time I don't cough or weeze

It makes me feel like I can do anything I please

Whoa...it's simple and it's slow


But it's wonderful and about as magical as it goes


Lifting up my lungs to feel the heat in my blood


Feeling my own heart beat and my love...


Cuz it's a beautiful life


Every day is a new day to choose what I'd like


I can be whoever I want to be


And I can move past my obstacles even with complexity


It's true...this life can be hard


But I didn't come here for an easy pass card


I didn't ask to get in the express lane


I asked to come here and gain all that I can gain


Mmmm...some more air in my lungs


It helps me remember that it's only just begun


Every breath is a new step toward a new day


Every breath is new chance for a new way.
...

And it's never too late


Open up my mind frame and open a new gate


Open up my options and lay em on a plate


I got an all you can eat buffet and it's only my first date.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Jake LoPresti

I write in search of ultimate truth. Beyond light and dark, and through love. Life is a series of waves to catch and I’m just looking for the right one to ride.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Yes, it's always never too late! Loved your poem!

  • Nice piece♥️✌️😉📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.