Poets logo

Bleed, Bleeding, Bled

A poem about a bad game of hide-and-seek

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 21 days ago 1 min read

We played hide-and-seek as animals,

Ducking between trees with feral growls

And crawling across the sharp forest floor

Until our splintered palms bled.

You went to sleep in the river

And I stained my keys red.

.

You didn't come back the next morning,

But it was a part of the game.

A hide-and-seek victory

That stretched and stretched and stretched.

I didn't like looking,

You were lost.

.

But my hands kept bleeding from the search.

The things under the rocks bit me,

Thorns sliced my hands,

And soon without really knowing how,

I was lost to the dirt of once familiar

Now hopelessly foreign lands.

.

And the blood on the keys kept flowing,

Because I could not find you in our forests

No matter how much I sought you out.

So I turned to my veins,

The things that ripped and tore and bled

When we crept through the brush like monsters.

.

I had to find you somewhere,

If not in the trees then maybe in me.

You were so good at hiding

That you must have slipped inside of me

When I wasn't looking that day.

So now I have to bleed you out.

.

Smoke out your presence from my veins

Like you are a nest of bees.

You are constantly buzzing in my thoughts.

I have to dig you out of me

And drop you to the table like a trophy

Because I cannot lose, I cannot lose you.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • L.C. Schäfer18 days ago

    The things that ripped and tore and bled - - I actually winced! Excellent stuff!

  • this was intense and wonderfully put together!

  • Kodah20 days ago

    Oh wow, this was intense!! Your work always touches me on such a deep level. Incredibly done! 💌♥

  • This was so intense, poignant, emotional and relatable. Loved it so much!

  • D.K. Shepard21 days ago

    The consistent thread of losing, loss, blood, and hiding created quite the atmospheric tension that thickened so poetically! Stunning work, Silver!

  • angela hepworth21 days ago

    Amazing work as always!! I loved your word choice!

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.