Poets logo

blazing star

do i have to add a subtitle?

By daphne grayPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like

Monarchs flutter from the blazing star. I want to join them. I picture them orange and blue and red- often green and pink, if I’m looking up at my wall. Or yellow and brown when I’m typing on my Mac. Multi-colored and bright and beautiful should they fly through my dreams, envisioning them in threes, fitting the numbers on my arm.

I heard in a song, “Happiness is a butterfly”. Beautiful and gorgeous; a captivating dream. Fleeting and short; two weeks, two months, somewhere in-between.

I get close when I lift my hand and stick my pointer finger out, I think I’m silent and unmoving, hoping if I stand there maybe it will come to me.

I say I won’t hurt it, but I moved sharp and quick. The silence was so loud,

So it bats its wings until it’s no longer in my periphery. The vibrant hues of those butterfly wings permeate my thoughts and coat my heart. Bright and beautiful, forever a reminder of what could have been. I suppose I should have known better. the most beautiful butterflies are ephemeral

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

daphne gray

just a girl in this world who thinks a lot and writes a lot and some of it makes sense and some of it doesn't. enjoy nevertheless.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.