Poets logo

Blackened Silk

Down down down

By Monika SMITHPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Blackened Silk
Photo by Julissa Santana on Unsplash

As I sink into the black silk lake

The silken strands seductively twist and turn around my body

Caressing

Undressing

Dragging me to the depths below

As I am tangled and tightened by the blackened silk

I struggle to gasp and pull air into my lungs

They burn they flare

They feel rotten and torn as if burned by a brutal raging fire

I am pulled from side to side

Each limb battling against the drag from the softened silk as it continues to yank at my head dragging me under

Down down

Into the darkened isolating depths

The soft silky caress has now ceased

It’s once lightened touch

Rips holes into my flesh

Bringing old wounds back to pulsating life

Creating new wounds that rage screaming into my mind

Shredding my heart

I brace for the end

I hope for a reprieve

With the last ounce of strength left within me I leap for the surface

I land to the mossy ground with an almighty thud

Ice cold air crystallises and reignites my breath

My body drips with sweat and blood

As the blackened silky waters creepy out of the lake twisting upon the ground

Making their way once more to me

Seizing me by the ankles

Ready to drag me once more down

Down into the depths of darkness

Once more into its deceiving descent

I grip the mossy ground

As my fingers drag trenches into the earth

Down down down

As I fight with my seemingly ever lasting last strength

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.