Poets logo

Black Sunshine

Be Yourself

By Jasmine SmithPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
"Love me, Love me, say that you love me."

My color is Black

There’s no love of color that I lack

The only time I feel like a snack is when I wear Black

There’s no other color that’s made an impact

I am Black

Growing up I was told that I was wack

There was no other way to put it being Black I had to pick up the slack

Be more patient, as if the knowledge about change has lacked.

Be more kind, so they don’t presume you’re angry and black

Pronounce your words correctly, or I am uneducated and black

I am not responsible for the way I react when people speak on what is Black

Live in the embodiment and accept all colors

We are not responsible for how you react to others

Why must I embrace my color while degrading another

Whether I’m red like roses, green like grass, brown like a tree trunk

A hater can kiss my ass.

All colors are beautiful, yellow, blue and lime.

I took my rainbow and twisted until it combined

Squeezed every bit of hate out, that shit is a crime

Black is my color

My black is sublime

I’m full of love for all the above

Call me Miss. Black Sunshine

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Jasmine Smith

Eat-Pray-Write, repeat.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.