Poets logo

Black Magic

In the darkness

By Angelita HamptonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
"Tumbling in the Sun," Photo by Angelita

Black magic

I am black as the magic

of survival,

and as dark as misnamed places

in thought where people hide me.

I am black as the market,

Stolen and SOLD,

and as dark as comedies

that laugh

through the pain.

I am black as hearts

of a people

still hopeful,

and as dark as arts

that hexes break over me,

like the sun shining in my rise.

I am black as the night before dawn

and as dark as rooms

where I am developed and exposed,

illuminated in snapshots

that try to catch my soul.

But I am the obsidian and the oblivion,

the beyond the deep, dark and black.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Angelita Hampton

Angelita Hampton is a writer, visual artist, activist, sister, and daughter. She identifies as a Black feminist revolutionary inspired by and dedicated to social justice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.