Poets logo

Black Like Me

#VocalNPM

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 5 years ago 1 min read
2
Alexis Dean Sr. and Alexis Dean Jr.

I fling my arms wide

With a smile and a tear,

Then feel a belonging

That’s rare around here,

Your hand holds mine

But somehow I feel free,

I yearned for a friend

That is Black like me…

I feel my heart cry

Then my eyes shed a tear,

I again touch the skin

Of a friend, once here,

Your hand held mine

But now you are free,

I mourn for my friend

That was Black like me…

“Don’t cry young man

It’s hard, this is true,

He can no longer say it

But, he still loves you...”

I recite these words

Sometimes easily,

As I think of my dad

That was Black like me...

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.