Poets logo

Black Is Beautiful

No. I can't relate.

By Lisa LovePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Black Is Beautiful
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Black is beautiful:

a color stigmatized,

a shade realized,

deep in the depth of my eyes--

By Liam Welch on Unsplash

pupils dilate when wise

enough to see the style,

passion, love so wild,

of brothers, sisters, child--

By Joice Kelly on Unsplash

people who I love and can show me the way to know the soul of me,

letting go of racist relatives who brainwashed the old me

in order to feel the rhythm of the sea in me.

No. I can't relate.

My skin is white, and

my way has been paved,

By Monica Silva on Unsplash

but who is to say that I can't repay

the black and brown people who built this country into what it is today?

By Koshu Kunii on Unsplash

No more quiet lies

that carry on to pretend we've already equalized

the labels and sins of my fathers and grandmothers

who made black into the "other"

who took from children and mothers.

By Andre Adjahoe on Unsplash

It's not enough to go from here

and pretend we're all clear.

We need to go back

and we need to hear

the voices (not mine!)

take us back in time

STOP what we're doing and rewind

By British Library on Unsplash

because reparations are due

and the old ones who hated now know like we do

because they went on and touched the other side

beyond the veil where ALL the Truth hides

and they can see from there

with remorse and real-knowing here and everywhere

that they were wrong.

And black is beautiful. 

By Diana Simumpande on Unsplash

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Lisa Love

Deeply impassioned lifelong writer, Cum Laude Honors in an English Degree from U.C.I, fam with a magi and two starseed babes, love angels, God, Prosperity, Gaia, partnership, and healing the Universe by healing myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.