Poets logo

Black Dr. Manhattan

I’m Leaving

By Ty DavisPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Still from the motion picture, Watchmen

Planet Earth ain’t no place for a Black Man

Everywhere I go I’m viewed as a threat

Can’t go here because You think I’m from the rival set

Can’t breathe cause You got your foot on my neck

I’m not sorry that my hoodie makes you sweat

I’m tired of the disrespect

It used to be niggas ain’t shit, now I’m the weakest link

Can’t say what I feel, because you supposedly know I what I think

You cheer for my death just to romanticize my life

Like you ain’t do everything in your power to divide me from wife

I can’t raise my son teach him wrong for right

Teach him when to walk away and when to fight

Can’t raise my daughter like a father teach her how to respect herself

Because the world don’t respect her as well

Don’t care how much they claim they do

All the the depictions you see of me ain’t true

But the fruition of your plan came true

I’m blamed for everything wrong in this world where they should blame you

Far from an Angel but ain’t nowhere near a demon

So I’m leaving

If I had a spaceship I’d dip from this slaveship and create my own planet

Leave me alone damnit

I’m leaving

This ain’t the place to be

Earth ain’t a place for me

So I’m leaving

In this ocean of Outer-space

I don’t care how long it takes

I’m leaving

All I ask is to pray for me

Godspeed for this journey

So long, I’m leaving

social commentary

About the Creator

Ty Davis

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ty DavisWritten by Ty Davis

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.