Poets logo

Black cats like mice!

Mice like to write letters to cats.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
6

Oh holy catastrophe black cat!

MEOW, meow, MEOW!

My, you sure are a fine specimen of a cat!

How dastardly, maniacally, absolute in magnificence and beauty you are

Your evil, diabolical stare turns my blood to dark burning embers of coal

So captivated by you am I,

I stand petrified, like that rock, unable to scurry away to dark places to hide

Your impressive whiskers seem like sharp swords waiting, threatening

Biding it's time for descending upon my tiny person in silent pleasure

They are cute, those kingly whiskers, though without them you would be

Helpless, inadequate in your ever masterful important cat-ly functions

You see, I know that at the end of those whiskers are organs that work as

Sensors, sending tactile signals to your brain, thus enabling your nervous

System to properly function. They are your Proprioceptor, helping you to

orientate and control every part of your body in space, and even help you

To measure distance between a cat and an object, ME, for example

Your whiskers are highly sensitive and feel every small change in the

Environment, you can even feel the slightest vibration in the air

By the way, I know that those organs, your whiskers, allows you to

'Touch'objects around you, and identify their shape and quality

I cannot help but wonder what my quality feels like to you

You love to dine on me, so I imagine that you quite appreciate

All my fine qualities, shape and rather exquisitely delicious taste

Is it true that when you purr, it lowers the blood pressure, cause truly

My blood pressure is sorely in need of lowering right now

So purr, you lovely feline, purr so I can gain the strength to run away

They say you make excellent pets and are independent, easy to care for

They say that male cats are more affectionate than their female kinds

Which are you, oh your mighty fabulousness, sitting there with those eyes

Bewitching, witchlike, slitted dragon-like, mesmerizing and hypnotic eyes

I finish my letter, place it in an envelope, while calculating the distance

Between the rather handsome feline and myself, four feet from cat

Two feet from hole, so fifty-fifty chance of life or death for me

Fifty-fifty chance of dinner for my impossibly gorgeous nemesis

Cat leaps, I throw his letter at him and dash towards my sanctuary

My haven of life, fleeing from certain death from the feline jaws

Cat lunges, with just a tiny moment to spare, I am in the sanctuary

Ha cat! Not today.

Read your letter, have a nice day!

Signed,

Mouse.

I live to fight another day.

nature poetryperformance poetry
6

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Too funny! I particularly found amusing “cat-ly functions” as a turn of phrase. Also, I’m sorry but I didn’t read your subtitle at the beginning, so I initially thought the cat was trying to eat YOU! Which gave it a whole other meaning. Regardless, I love your perspective of the mouse! 🐁

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was a great piece, I was guessing the whole poem what type of being the narrator was. At first I thought human and then maybe a mouse? I also love your talent for sprinkling in lesser known facts through the story in a way that’s informative but not info dumping! So amazing! I love the ending, a mouse leaving a letter they wrote to the cat! So smart and well thought out! Amazing work, Novel!! 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.