Poets logo

Black Black

my bias is indifferent

By Cassie SmithPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Ig: creativeworksbycs

I’m looking for an explanation

to something.

Like mama why my skin

brown and yours is

light

Possibly I’ve seen too much

under the sun

for a year that would

be crazy to me

for a year that

would be goodness

So why is black black

considered cheap

Why is I the one you

want,

I laughed

about with friends

as we talked about the new

current dating scene

Why is black black

and tell me mama, how

am I considered brown?

I’m unclear about my

assignment, which was to do

as you said but I’m black

black.

So who am I to you...

I’ve watched a few TV shows

but none could gravitate

my conscious the way

I considered.

So what’s the truth,

what’s the truth.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.