Poets logo

Black Birds

Outside of your window

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Black Birds
Photo by Shrestha Basu Mallick on Unsplash

I have a gift

I call it a quilt

But it’s not a quilt, it’s a poem instead

Please watch my words come together

to serve as my thread

I have a plan

But it’s difficult to see

But for now keep warm

from your head to your feet

Next close your eyes

and I’ll kiss your cheek

Black birds are outside of your window

They wait to hear what I will say to you

Little do they know,

I can fabricate clothes

to disguise you, and hide the truth

Yet I still worry

one line will be heard

and passed to the birds,

so protect these words,

threaded and sewn in a song

And for the life of me,

I hope to be wrong

I like to think

I could bend or break

all these beaks that keep on waiting

cause they don’t know,

I hold this love,

and it’s worth saving

I just hope

it's enough

to keep you from ravens

and I know you’re not ready to go,

but put on these new clothes

and gather your things

to put in a sack

and I will watch

as you slip out the back

and allow me to succeed

in what I set out to do

Now I am alone

and you’re not home

and the black birds of death

are still gathered outside of your window

Thank you so much for taking the time to read Black Birds, you can find even more of my work by copying and pasting the link below :)

https://vocal.media/authors/jeffrey-4v5pk6038a

Likes, comments, subscriptions, etc. are all appreciated!

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.