Poets logo

Black & White

Dedicated to my younger self

By Monique WillPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Author pictured above. © Lash To Lens

For way too long I lived my life in black and white

Upholding false ideals that made me feel more like right

Like a fire that burns underwater I will no longer

let the flamboyant flame of my existence be put out

Once afraid to speak

Now it’s time to shout

Travel amongst the stars

Remember these words, show them who you really are

Let your skin turn red like clay when you laugh until it hurts

Let your deep brown eyes sparkle, you’re one with the earth

Let the crown on your head grow up towards the golden sun

You were made by design, uniquely you, comparable to none

Every day is still a fight, but I will fight and not flee

I choose me

These insecure walls

Let them come tumbling down

With confidence, I take this vow

I only live in color now

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Monique Will

Family over everything. Natural hair enthusiast. Writer. Lover of love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.