Poets logo

Bittersweet Relief

Emotional Freedom

By Sophia MericiPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

There are so many things that I would like to say,

To so many different people,

But through concern for their feelings,

And not wanting to upset them,

I keep it all to myself.

Or the times when I do share,

I barely scratch the surface.

Because I know the things I need to say,

Are almost as unbearable to hear,

As they are to feel.

This is why writing my thoughts and feelings online,

Has helped me so much.

Because writing in a notebook just isn't the same.

That way it just stays in my head.

Even though it comes out of my brain,

Down my arm

Into my fingers,

Then out through the pen,

Onto the page...

It still feels like it's there.

Trapped.

On that page,

In my head,

In my mind,

In my heart...

And I'm suffocating, from the pressure of these thoughts.

So...

Thank you for lifting the pillow from my face.

Thank you for reading.

When you read it, it sets my thoughts,

My feelings,

My pains,

Free.

Each view alleviates a fragment of my troubles.

So thank you.

Each view feels like a deep sigh of relief.

It feels like one more thought has been freed from the cage of my heart and mind.

You are just browsing the internet,

But in doing so,

You're lighting up the darkness within me.

Twitter: @Sophiamerici

Instagram: @Sophiamerici

Facebook: @Sophiamerici

Tumbler: @Sophiamerici

Reddit, StumbleUpon, Flipboard ... I think you get it.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sophia Merici

Opening the door to my mind and hoping to help people along the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.