Poets logo

Bittersweet Beginning

Small Tools, Butterfly Wingbeats

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Bitter end

A dark omen?

Or the dimly lit backdrop to a sweet beginning?

Bittersweet beginning

May nothing end bitterly by our trembling, fumbling, pressing, yearning hands

The breeze blew yet lukewarm

When I asked if I was alone

We hid in the dark for a little longer

Then, at the edge of the void,

A stoplight blinked

But I only took it in when I was poised to leap

Bittersweet beginning

May nothing end bitterly by our frightened, shaking, aching, insistent hands

The cards were laid down

Between the moon and the sun

And the heat was sucked out of the sky

As my smile grew wide

We played our giddy game

For we knew the game

And I should have been sick

But I was satisfied

Bittersweet beginning

May nothing end bitterly by our thoughtless, thoughtful, helpless, conniving hands

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.