Poets logo

Biscuits

For everyone

By J. S. WadePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2021
42

Warm scents of biscuits in my room,

awoke me in the morning.

I showered, dressed and hugged my mom,

my safe haven, and my home

__

On the street at the break of dawn,

cold awoke them in their car

A homeless mother and her son,

no food to eat, no one cared.

__

My ride to school, a brand new van,

heat on high, my face flush red.

I played my phone to chat with friends,

“Scott, I Love you,” my mom said.

__

Saltine crackers she passed around,

Changed her shirt and wiped Joe’s face.

They walked three miles to get to town,

the cold brisk winds, slowed their pace.

__

The classroom warm, the late bell rang,

Joe entered in, and we stared.

Gross judgments passed, sick jokes we made,

in his defense, no one dared.

__

His stomach growled and he felt faint,

classmates made him feel afraid.

At lunch, he’d hide, inside a drain,

the shame of peers to evade.

__

Ev’ning came and my pizza party,

beef and cheese, to name a few.

Everyone ate, happy and hearty,

food thrown out into the chute.

__

Out on the street, in the dark of night,

they searched the trash for their fare.

Unseen, forgotten, pitied, shied,

eating scraps that had been spared.

__

I walked outside and what did I spy?

Joe ate garbage from trash sacks.

Confused, I asked my Mom, but why?

ashamed of school and our attacks

__

Through the cold and scantily dressed,

they trudged to the car, their home.

Another day, survived at best,

the freezing night, soon would come.

__

We passed them walking down the street,

mom stopped our car and they spoke.

Their tragic story was complete,

my Mom begged them, please come home.

__

Warm scents of biscuits in our room,

awake us every morning

I shower, dress and share my clothes,

our safe haven, and our home.

inspirational
42

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Just came across this - beautifully poignant. The comparison drove the point home! Great stuff, Scott!

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Great poem. Touchingly poignant. 🥰

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Loved the comparison story line. Beautifully written❤️

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Loved the story line, great contrast

  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    Loved this poem!

  • Michele Jones2 years ago

    This addresses so much. Well done and beautifully written.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Beautiful and emotional. Loving it! Re-read and hearted previously!💖😊💕

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 years ago

    Very Profound; Lovely work!

  • Truly beautifully written. Love it.

  • Loved this poem!

  • Wow!nI love this one. That was absolutely beautifully written!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.