Poets logo

Birkenstocks and Socks

A poem

By Bugsy WattsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Image by Bugsy Sabine

I take the first sip of wine

then once to my humble dismay,

I find loose-tongued musings

meet the ears of friends at bay.

“I have a thought!” so listen well

I’m right and I have proof,

And if you confront me on this fact

I will counter with the truth.

There’s no better pairing in the world

for comfort and style, though one mocks,

at the blatantly insipid notion

of Birkenstocks and socks.

Alas, dear friends, I will assert

they transcend the ‘dad look’ of lore,

as appropriate in any place

as Crocs getting chucked out the door.

Summer night campfires

with some twangy acoustic reverb.

In a pinch, on those windy days,

just getting the bins to the curb.

The flashy socks, the breezy toes,

the possibilities abound.

Wear your Birkenstocks! (don’t forget the socks!)

and please, wear them proud!

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Bugsy Watts

Got bit by the writing bug.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bugsywattspoetry/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.