Poets logo

Big Kid Choices

For the Children who Grow too Fast

By Lenita LeiPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like
Big Kid Choices
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

I am a big kid now.

This means I can make a choice.

I can choose what is bad or good.

To feel mad, sad, glad or rejoice.

I can be kind and help others.

Or stomp my feet, yell, and scream.

My choice might work for me.

But could really hurt my family team.

I can choose how to play,

To be nice and share.

Or to bully, snatch and grab.

Being mean and unfair.

It’s so hard when I really WANT something.

Because I know there are rules.

But it’s a chance to make a choice.

And learn with my new tools.

There’s always another chance to try.

And aim to do what is right.

Please bear with me, for it can be so hard to choose.

Guide and support me each day and night.

Sometimes things go differently,

and I want to hit and kick.

My feelings are so mixed.

After I learn it is safer to use my words and admit.

Thank you for teaching me the lessons!

Each day brings a basket of new chances.

Where I can make better choices,

though at times, please help me with my answers.

I am a big kid now.

Let me show you how.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lenita Lei

Life is intense, as is suspense!

Tune in as words come to life through your imagination.

Fiction and Non-Fiction: Just let me write!

Australian-Finnish <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.