Poets logo

Big Blue

and some pink sand

By Jada FergusonPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2

my hands and feet are gliding-

over and under pink sand-

to the unpredictable rhythm the body allows-

when you don't have anywhere else to be-

-

i am a ways from big blue-

so i can take in as much of it-

as my eyes can hold-

-

the breeze is on a timer-

that eases my shoulders, neck, then head-

onto the clinging sand-

big blue harmonizes a gentle song-

that carries me to a resting state-

-

the yellow yo-yo begins to descend-

and the alarm on my internal clock nudges me awake-

so i don't miss the setting-

-

i lengthen my limbs-

and breathe movement back into my body-

when i'm ready i take purposeful strides-

until big blue is pushing against my waist-

-

i swim out further than i ever have before-

-

right arm extended-

swiping right ear-

scooping down into big blue as-

left arm extends-

swiping left ear-

scooping down-

legs stretched behind me-

KICKING with precision all along-

-

i am reminded of the enormity of big blue-

and start to tread out of respect-

-

i reconnect myself with my ujjayi breath-

and lay on top of big blue-

shedding the weights that have weakened my posture and plagued my brain-

i-

float

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Jada Ferguson

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Beautiful!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.