Poets logo

Bicho Raro

By my brother

By Cassandra Zepeda Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Original Handwritten poem

"Bicho raro, bicho raro"

Are my soul smoke signals

not common tongue?

Inside my body's four walls

I'm the caged bird and its song.

There's a fire in there,

Everywhere with a soul,

And my creature can't bear

But to treat you true to your role -

"Bicho raro, bicho raro."

I want them to hope,

To hope and pray to be fair;

If we were sea creatures,

to have faith in the fish

regardless the features

The glint in the scale,

The ways we succeed,

Or in those that we fail.

We're familiars to fire

But forget we exist

We're not skins for hire

Numbers on a list -

"Bicho raro, bicho raro"

I'm strange, I'm strange

I'm the smoke in my mouth;

love, love, and love

One black, white, and brown,

But I drew you, I drew you

When I looked in your eyes,

And I love you, I love you,

And your fire inside,

I drew you, I drew you

Next to the fire inside,

But you're not just skin colour,

You're kaleidoscope dyed,

All logic defied,

All logic defied.

Soy un bicho raro, I'm a strange bug

Because my soul wants to give yours a hug.

My love made the drawing but it didn't win;

The colours I made cost too much to print

Love will always be an invaluable tint,

And to love our unseen and our overlooked

Is to rejoice in the plumage

of the birds of the cage,

Make this the age of the

currents of change,

Hear in the range of our soul's true bell

To see the flight under the beetle's shell.

Las ideas son el fuego

Del corazón y la mente

(Ideas are the fire of the heart and mind)

Y el humo es el juego

De las palabras de la gente

(And the smoke is the game of people's words)

Seguir las ideas es el faro

En un océano de miedo

(Following the ideas is a lighthouse in an ocean of fear)

Escucha las palabras

Las palabras del faro

(Listen to the words of the lighthouse)

"Soy bicho raro, soy bicho raro."

This poem was written by my brother, Aramis - this man has left everything, his whole life, behind to help save my mother's life by caring closely for her health, while my brother, Paris, and I help provide for them financially. Due to my mom's rare and agonizing condition, my brother cannot use an electronic device to submit this poem. I invited him to write it, I'd type it, and submit it through my platform, in hopes that he might have the chance to win the Moleskin challenge with his ingenious work.

This is one of the most selfless, caring, devoted people I've ever had the honor of knowing and it is an absolute pleasure to be able to share his work on my Vocal Creators page.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Cassandra Zepeda

Cassandra is a performer, model, writer, and the Creative Director/Co-Founder for MageCraft Miniatures. She currently lives in Houston, Texas where she runs her business with her fiance, Blake, and their fur babies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.