Poets logo

Beyond the Oyster

Secrets of the Ocean

By Sidney SmithPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Beyond the Oyster
Photo by Matthew Fassnacht on Unsplash

I had a dream

That I lived as a Pearl

In an oyster of the sea

I was told

I could be

Anything I wanted to be

I sat in the inside

Filter feeding

The ocean tides

The roaring waters

Rising in and out of me

Everything was fine

And as it should be

Until I found the inside

Hollow and constricting

I remembered them say

That I could be anything

So I started to push

Against the opening

And then began the questioning

Why would I do

Such an outrageous thing

To which I respond

I want to see beyond

You said I could do anything

To which they respond

You go anywhere but beyond

The filtering is still polishing

To leave would break

The cycle of all things

But have you ever seen beyond

I ask have you ever been anywhere

Besides this ocean floor?

If you said I could be anything

Why can’t I be set free?

I am an oyster

And you are my Pearl

Made to sit in this place

And filter sift and toil

You are a product

Of dirt turned into gold

Precious Pearl

Just be precious is all

Learn how to be your precious self

For it is what I meant

For you to be anything in this world

But is it a shame to be different

Has anyone ever tried

I continue to push and pry

You don’t understand

Precious Pearl

The makers plan

What the maker thought of you

When they crafted the idea

In their hands

But certainly if I feel

I could be anything in this world

I could be a Pearl

And so so much more

Certainly as I was crafted

The maker gifted

Me to be with this mind

I didn’t ask

Or plan for it

It simply existed

I never asked to be a Pearl

I’m just here in this

Tiny little world

The oyster opened

And out I fell

We are given a choice

I hear it say

And although i will stay

It seems like yours has been made

If you feel as though you must

There must be no delay

I had a dream

That I lived as a pearl

In an oyster of the sea

And then I dreamed a dream

That became reality

Into to the beyond

Upon the waves of destiny

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Sidney Smith

A picture tells a thousand words, and a thousand words can paint a beautiful picture.

I have been a writer all of my life. It has been like an anchor for me to release emotions, process ideas, and escape into a world of fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.