Poets logo

Beyond the locked door

Journal entry #2 Preparing myself for leaving you

By Kat BPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Beyond the locked door
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Journal entry #2

I woke up this morning with a vision of you in my head.

You, my Eating Disorder... ED. I’ve decided. I’m done. I am locking you away.

You.

Your a little girl, in a bare room.... you look meek and tired.

But your face.... behind those worn out eyes hides so much...

Pain.

You look so.... deceptively fragile.

But

I have no doubt. I do not feel sorry. I know with absolute, painful certainty that you could break out of these walls.

Rip them apart.

You...

ED curled up crying in the corner of the room that I have locked you in. The door will remain closed.

I have left you there, double checked the lock....and walked away.

I know this hurt.

I know this because you are part of me.

You have always been present. And in locking you away I separated myself from you.

Took away a part of me, in order to gain back, the parts of me I had lost.

I did this out of love.

Not a love for you. I have to tell you I still hate you.

I walked away, key in hand, for a love for me.

A love for my children. Love for a life I miss so much. Love for a new life... I will build without you.

You are curled up in there, lost and weak on the floor.

A ball of fear,

co-dependence

lies

manipulation

and self loathing.

You are crying because you know you are nothing without me.

The terror you must feel when you saw me close the door.

I locked it.

Realizing....incredibly... that I have discovered Choice.

On my side of that locked door is a whole new world.

Well, not in fact a new world but the world, the life, the whole life you took away.

My eyes are opening.

The space you have left is such a Gift.

I am free.

Free to fill a welcome void with wonderful people and experiences that make my heart happy.

I see you in there, I feel your anguish but I will not release you.

This is where you will stay while I explore all that is beyond your walls.

My children, hold my hands tight.

Side by side, we walk away.

I hold their loving hands tight.....

I do not look back.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Kat B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.