Poets logo

Beyond the Horizon

I will cross it someday

By Jowie EspirituPublished 12 days ago 2 min read
1

I tried to swim my way

across an ocean of uncertainty

and not for very long

I found myself drowning

when the crashing waves

of the unforgiving reality

grew larger and stronger

and smashed into my very being

breaking me apart

into thousands of pieces

hitting me again and again

leaving me wounds and bruises

and me, gasping for air,

tried my best to stay afloat

wishing and hoping

to be rescued by a boat

but however I tried

to cry and make a sound

my unfortunate soul

can never be found

and however I tried

to swim toward the shore

my wavering strength

sustained me no more.

Then flashed before me

fond memories I have kept—

days that I laughed,

nights I have wept—

and from these memories

a voice called on

and told me to keep

my eyes on the horizon

so I listened and pondered

to each and every word

through the ocean's roar

I have clearly heard

and on the horizon

I have kept my sight

through the crashing waves

I put up a fight

never against it

but by letting go

surrendering myself

to its ebb and flow

letting it drown

my soul for now

and wash away

my fears somehow

for beyond the horizon

there's a land that is fair

a land full of joy

where I would no more despair .

But until that day

when I stand on its shore

the roaring waves

I should endure

until the waves itself

that drowned my soul

will wash me ashore

as it rumbles and rolls

and then, only then,

as I lay on the sand,

will I gather my strength

and will I slowly stand

to face a world

I have already known

a brighter world

to me that was shown

by a voice that called out to me

in the middle of the stormy sea

calling me to surrender

telling me to let go

calling me home

and letting me know

that although the horizon

seems too far away

I will surely cross it

someday.

Copyright ©️ 2022 by Jowie Espiritu

Mental Healthinspirational
1

About the Creator

Jowie Espiritu

I write to give myself a chance to express what I can't say out loud--- my own version of therapy that heals my wounded inner child.

I have 4 Poetry Books published on Amazon, copy this link to view my author profile. https://amzn.to/4dj6uDS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.