Poets logo

Beyond Blue

recessive genes, family history, and prairie storms

By Lindsay RaePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
11
A still image from Scott Aspinall’s upcoming film “Land of the Living Skies.”

Eyes of blue, depths unlike the ocean’s waves;

But I am borne of earth, not from the sea.

Great love inspired by summer’s endless days;

Storm-chased prairie skies gave birth to me.

Where lightning strikes and thunder rolls

Gather close and witness Nature's truest form.

Dark looming shadows over hills of gold,

My eyes are lightning, cloud, and storm.

I am the Immigrant, working stolen promised ground.

I am the Original, chased from native sacred land.

Two worlds collided; genes twisted round

By Fate, it seems, her outstretched hand.

Recessive genes grew eyes this hue

Like storming skies, the deepest blue.





Inspired by a poem my mother wrote. An ode to the gorgeous skies of the Canadian prairies, where I was born and raised, and to my lineage of both European immigrants and native Métis.

nature poetry
11

About the Creator

Lindsay Rae

I'm a romance and comedy writer from BC, Canada. My debut novel (Not) Your Basic Love Story came out in August, 2022. Now represented by Claire Harris at PS. Literary!

I'm on Twitter, Instagram, and Tiktok

https://lindsaymaple.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.