Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Beware the Murder of Crows

Lovely little ditty...

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
14
Beware the Murder of Crows
Photo by Qurratul Ayin Sadia on Unsplash

Beware, Beware

Don't stop and stare

A Murder of Crows roam without a care

To rob the townsfolk of their ware

*

Be Wise, Be Wise

Don't look in their eyes

Their true nature is protected by lies

Their evil is hidden by their feathery disguise

*

Walk Away, Walk Away

Even when they beckon you to stay

Don't listen to the deceptive things they say

With your sanity and sense you'll surely pay

*

Hide with me, Hide with me

In my cottage with a cup of tea

You'll be safe from the Murder of Crows, you'll see

Until you close your eyes and from life I set you free

Come hide with me...trust me...you'll be safe...(Image generated using craiyon.com)

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: The author's notes for this piece have been redacted for numerous reasons including "evil".

If you want something lighter:

If you want something sadder:

If you want something else:

You can also, if you are so inclined, look at my profile here.

nature poetryvintagesurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreakfact or fictionCONTENT WARNING
14

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    My my! How very spooky! Very well done, Paul! I really love how every line begins with a command - It really cemented the feeling of the instructions coming from a solid presence!

  • More like a "distraction of crows" if you ask me, lol.

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Oo this feels like a nursery rhyme. I wouldn’t get caught though because I kinda like crows😂 Six of Crows is such a good book that’s now what I associate them eith

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Really liked the Halloween flavour here! 🦇.. that’s actually a bat 😏… there’s no crows pictures here. 😅 Also did u draw that picture at the end on a multimedia program!?

  • Man! This reminds me of the protests here last year… one of the chants the people would shout was kaputa kaw kaw kaw…. It meant crow in reference to the Rajapaksa brothers… and definitely was not a compliment. Very Halloween appropriate darkness also!

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    ooo creepy👻

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Oh this is wonderful. Love it.

  • Test8 months ago

    Always loved that the collective pronoun for crows is 'murder'. Darkness in this was palpable and the voice was so well done. It also feels like it could be a part of the start of a coven challlenge entry ? 🤍

  • I always approach crows (same as how I approach other animals) to say hello but they always fly away. So rude! Also, tell me where can I find her? I wanna hide with her. So that she can free me from this life, lol. Loved your poem! 🍩🥐

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    I picked up on that voice in the first lines, too. This is awesome and a great one for the season!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    The opening of each stanza sounds like crows, I think I will hear them talking when I'm next alone in the wood

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Nice flow to this one. And lol on the authors note. Haven’t been around too much. Last time we ran into each other you were dealing with Covid. Hope you’ve made a full recovery!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Love this

  • Nice job 📝✌️♥️

  • Thavien Yliaster8 months ago

    This reminds me when somebody was singing the beginning of Kendrick Lamar's M.A.A.D. City and the crow cawed in right on time.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.