Poets logo

Between Two Worlds

When I Sleep The Veil Is Lifted

By Devine WritezPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Between Two Worlds
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Each step I take reveals the next

On a staircase, built complex

Yesterday calls me back from deep within the death grip of the future's past

A footprint on creation impressed with the last

The full moon sleeps among the howls in the night

providing me with a guiding light

shielding me from the waking world

the guardians of the sleep realm reveal

the process the body goes through to heal

I approach a gate, the sign says "HEAVEN"

"Membership Only, Show starts at Seven"

one lonely soul out on the highway

searching for a place to do it my way

sitting in the seat of my soul

a figment for my imagination to hold

outside of my body, somewhere inside my mind

in a place that exists without time

no one else here, it's just me

a vocal declaration of a life that's free

observation of a world caught between

what we think life and death mean

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.