Poets logo

Betrayed

Voices Within: A Journey from Intrusion to Truth

By Harinder SinghPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2

What do you assert

What is your intention

Behind your clever words

Are you intending to hurt?

Are you asking me as I write this?

Or am I writing this to share?

Why do you wrestle for control

My message you impair

Betrayed by you

By who?

By me?

No by you

You are not me

I am not you

You detest my heritage culture faith and beliefs

Yet you exist in my mind

You are other peoples ideas

Intrusive thoughts

Trying to form a life of your own

With me as your host

This is mind control

The parasite wrestles for control

The lie that created it

I try to uncover

Fear is its name

It has been used as a weapon

For longer than I can remember

Drip fed to me

Literally as a child

The dehydrating saline solutions

I was forced to take

Would be tinged with fear

I try to remember that I am a guest

That my host is merciful

Patient and kind

An immutable truth

Not always translatable

From language to language

When the translation is done

By intent and intellect

Hard to understand by conceit

Betrayed by translators

The messages originally pure

Its nuance and essence concealed

Traders cannot decipher

Yet they will peddle

For Profit or Prophet

Masked knowledge

For the truth cannot be diluted in its essence

Nor split for semantics sake

Not reducible in form

Unfathomable and limitless

Afflicted the intoxicated mind

Physical and emotional

Intellectual too

Truth is the antidote

surreal poetrysocial commentaryinspirationalart
2

About the Creator

Harinder Singh

Hi Harinder here, deep diving into human emotion, nature's splendor, and the complexities of existence. Firm believer in words as tools for healing, inspiration, and challenge. Continuously finding poetry in daily moments.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.