Poets logo

Betrayal

A mere thought

By Hennessie BrownPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Betrayal
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I said I do because I was loyal to you

I omitted others because of you.

But because you never knew loyalty or like,

With a twist of fate and true adulthood

Your money became attractive

And you started thoughts of betrayal

When no one else was checking for you

I became loyal to you

But as soon as someone began to wonder what it is about you

That I could be attracted to

You became curious about the ones who rejected you

Then you became a betrayer

Always seeking attention that you did not get from your youth

Vying for the attention of friends who are not true to you

You kept seeking ways to get more attention

You even betrayed the most precious of our family

I should find solace in knowing that the one you wanted to love

Betrayed you and was not loyal to you or even in love with you

But instead, loyal to your wallet.

I should but instead I feel sad for you because you

betrayed the most precious gifts put into your life.

Your betrayal will now cause you a lifetime of discouragement and a love void

You will miss weddings, birthdays, and phone calls to check up on you

Pop up visits from the ones who should have become like your guardian angels

All because your betrayal was more important than the love your family was already giving you.

As you grow older and hopefully wiser may you understand that betrayal always comes with a cost you can’t calculate.

Betrayal of a spouse is one thing.

Betrayal of children is everything.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Hennessie Brown

Sarcastic to the bone. However, you can't tell it from the stories I write. I'm a bigger lover of love, GOD, love and my children.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.