Poets logo

Betrayal (Dedicate to the late 'Body-good', Jamaican LGBTQ+ Social Media Entertainer, Murdered 12/02/24)

By: Carlton A. Armistad

By Andrew LittlePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
(Courtesy of Black Gay Art FB Page & Artist Barbara Waterfield, Feb 5th, 2020)

Verse 1.

Slickly sliced and out runs a gush of weakened emotion telling Me, I am to blame as I missed every que & clue.

Subtlety judging Me, Abusing Me, Using Me, Rejecting Me, then expecting Me to be ok.

Demolished pile of human rubble, sanity now non-existent, but hey when did you actually care about my fragile existence?

Empathy in abundance, shared without fear, led to My undoing and this pitiful excuse of tragedy here.

Knife twisted so deep, body and soul can't find the sweet peace of sleep, while wondering and pondering my eternal rest

Comforting release from this unholy mess.

Verse 2.

Free; when was I ever free? A price placed on my life for my mere existence

Social Media provided a vale, that covered the cruel reality of what it meant to be Me here in this depravity.

I flaunted, laughed and galivanted at the sheer power this taste of freedom gave, now I was the internet's slave.

Celebrity, local celebrity they called Me, so I opened up and shared all of Me, putting on display all My vulnerabilities.

Happy, for a moment, one mere moment; I felt happy. Accepted, no longer rejected and finally happy.

Verse 3.

Sound, a very unforgettable and deafening sound, as the 1st Bullet exited the gun and entered my Head.

Another four shots hitting various places on my Body, that flopped onto back seat of this speeding Car as it fled.

Blood, brain and marrow, all my pain and regret on show for all to see, I was gone, but violently & viciously from life, set free.

My murderer opened the car door and pushed my lifeless bleeding body from the moving motor and as what was left of Me hit the hot dark asphalt

Gabriel beckoned Me through a bright and beautiful shining Heavenly light. For the 1st time I felt clean and glowing my heavenly form showing, and all I knew that was earthly, gone.

[END.]

sad poetrysurreal poetryinspirationalheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson3 months ago

    I find your capitalization of "Me" throughout to be a powerful, subtle, intentional use of language that forces the reader to understand your first-person narrator without looking away. Impactful choice! Thank you for sharing!

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Well written! 🤙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.