Poets logo

Betrayal

Cave of my youth

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Mysterious and awe-inspiring mineral deposits and solutions (stalagmites and stalactites)

I remember visiting the Mammoth Cave in Kentucky

when I was 13 years old.

Clad in a plaid shirt and shapeless jeans,

the younger version of myself

soaked in the tour guide's didactic instructions

and musings - he said,

"stalagmites form from the ground up

("G for ground")

stalactites form from the ceiling down."

The stalagmites in my Life --

god

him

family

came crumbling down in the course of a night,

or did it erode over time

yet I was too blind to see?

How do you make straight

what is so tortuous and bent out of shape

How do you iron out

the kinks

the serpentine path

the devastating digressions

the accidents

the mistakes

the wrong turns

the plethora of dead ends?

Drowning in wine I tried,

but no more.

My body screams for a respite

and the older version of myself

yearns to return to the cave

of my youth,

and seek refuge and comfort in the terrestrial formations

that seemed so sure and absolute and indestructible Evermore --

the signs of my youth

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.