Poets logo

Best Friends, Not

I Guess This Is How Our Friendship Ended

By Thomas FletcherPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Broken Glass Symbolizing Betrayal In a Friendship. Source: Friendship Lamps

So I guess this is

How our friendship ends

We were supposed to

Be best friends

But you couldn't even

Communicate with me

I tried and tried to keep

Our Friendship Alive

I messageed you

And tried asking

What was going on

Or what I did wrong

But you couldn't even

Spare a bit of your time

To talk to me and

Tell me why you started

Being this way towards me

Instead you just went

Completely silent then

Replaced me with someone

I even tried telling you

Exactly what I wanted

Or needed you to tell me

But your response was

To just make it worse

Between us,

You'll do everything but

Actually have a

Conversation with me,

Anybody would get tired

Of the way you handle things

If they were in my position

Because people get tired

Of feeling unappreciated,

Especially when I've been

There for you through so much

And every time you ghosted me

I stayed with an open mind

And opened arms and allowed

You back into my life every time

Where most people would have

Given up on you already,

But somehow you still

Didn't appreciate that

As much as you

Appreciate other people,

We were best friends but

You rarely wanted to try

To put in the effort to try

To do anything with me

Or to make it seem like

We were best friends,

And you know everything

I've been through

But with how you

Handled things between us

It's clear that you never

Cared about understanding me.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Thomas Fletcher

I like writing short stories, poetry, and probably eventually novels too. I enjoy reading those types of writings as well. I also enjoy listening to music, playing video games, and playing and watching basketball.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Thomas Fletcher (Author)about a year ago

    Correction for misspelling: I *messaged you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.