Poets logo

Best Friends

#VocalNPM

By Veronica CelayaPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I heard a knocking on my door

In the middle of night

Who could it be, who could it be

Maybe I’ll just lay here instead

And pretend I’m asleep

They’ll go away, they’ll go away

Could it be someone from the past

Or is it a complete stranger

Needing me, needing me

I’m about halfway to my door

And read a text message saying

Let me in, let me in

How you been, my dear friend

It’s been so long since we spoke

I know it’s my fault

But I miss you so much

Can we try again my beautiful friend

To be friends

Our lives took two different paths

The memories remained inside

Now you see, Now you see

That We needed to spread our wings

To fill in all the empty space

We couldn’t keep, we couldn’t keep

But it was never personal

That our lives separated us

Just complicated, so complicated

You took a few little detours

That led you back to my front porch

Welcome back friend, please come in

How you been, my dear friend

It’s been so long since we spoke

I know it’s my fault

But I miss you so much

Can we try again my beautiful friend

To be friends

Yes we can try again, My beautiful friend

My beautiful friend, Let’s try again

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.