Poets logo

Best Friend Breakup

Friends can break your heart too.

By Clare StrayerPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

It was 3 o'clock on a Friday afternoon,

Her face is open and sincere as she stands on my porch,

Her thick blonde hair spilling down her back,

catching the sun rays at the tips.

She says the words “I’m sorry”

And then “I miss you so much” and my heart

Squeezes inside of me, lifting its head from

The dirt that she had subjected it to for so many months.

Relief overwhelms me like a rushing sigh and we embrace.

This was everything I ever wanted.

The porch fades away and we are alone, floating in the sky

Stars pooling around us.

My eyes snap open, my sheets tangling my arms and legs

Choking my dream

That I knew would never come true.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Clare Strayer

I just want to make the world feel something✨ Leave a gift if you like what you feel✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.