Poets logo

Belonging

Somewhere

By Vicious AvaricePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Like

People flutter in and out

I stay

Lost for what to say

I wait

Separate and away

I watch

Talking, listening, laughing

silence

Never is a day

I feel

I belong with them this way

I don't

Sorrow builds inside

I'm dying

Wondering why I'm all

Alone

Then as I'm at home

It happens

Friends will talk

And I'm included

Topics that I know as well

Thoughts alike I feel to tell

Talking, listening, laughing

Losing time, and space in passing

Then I look about the room

Locking eyes with someone new

Who sips their drink and shifts their eyes

For they're alone within this hive

Why do we play this game?

Our thoughts of friends are not the same.

But every group has just the one

Who's lonely, wanting, starved of fun

sad poetrysocial commentaryart
Like

About the Creator

Vicious Avarice

The ramblings of a man obsessed with fate. Poetry, quotes, and inspiration. I am a published author who rides the beast of imagination. A storyteller. Check out my children’s book “The Christmas Monster” on Amazon or wherever books are sold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.