Poets logo

Believer to Dreamer

I have someone you need to meet

By Nessy WriterPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Believer to Dreamer
Photo by MILAN GAZIEV on Unsplash

Dear Dreamer,

*

You are so fond of taking trips

To far off lands

With yet unknown faces,

In non-existent places

And me at your side.

*

I admire your hope,

Savour your visions,

They transport me to another realm

Where fantasy can feel non-fiction

*

In spinning yarns

Of finest thought,

The strands floating fast

And stroking my cheeks

Like a lover’s caress,

I am seduced.

*

You give me more cards

Than I can handle,

My fortunes, you say.

They litter the floor discarded.

Forgotten almost as soon as they drop

For there are too many

*

They pile up around my feet

We haven’t left this room for days,

5 cups are resting on the bedside table.

Has it in fact been weeks?

Or maybe months and years?

*

I cannot stay here,

I have to pick a card and leave

Staying here feels good,

Doused in desire

Without any work,

Without the struggle,

The blood, sweat and tears

That must pay for these dreams,

We’re living on credit.

*

You will still lay with me at night,

But I suggest a tryst

With action,

You must meet.

What do you say?

What a team we could be,

I await your reply

*

Sincerely,

Believer

inspirational

About the Creator

Nessy Writer

A freelance writer of all sorts sharing it out with the world. Poetry, prose, advice, reviews and travel writing.

For all my writing and my poetry collection: https://linktr.ee/nessywriter

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nessy WriterWritten by Nessy Writer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.