Poets logo

Believe

A Poem

By Steven BaldryPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Believe.

My only design in life’s fashion.

Is to live with wildest passion.

To feel present...

In every day that I’m alive.

I have no interest in hearsay...

Or the childish games that people play.

Selling their souls…

In order to survive.

A heart of stone and skin of leather.

Bonds these hollow people together.

With a bitterness…

Instead of blood in their veins.

No matter how venomous the poison.

There’s no way that I will join them.

That boy became this man…

When I broke the chains.

Now I look you in the Eye…

For my tongue it cannot lie.

For I hold a belief inside…

That’ll never leave.

For I have learnt as I have aged.

To lose all Jealousy and Rage.

To find peace within myself...

And to Believe.

I’m not sayin’ I never questioned.

My own heart or it’s intentions.

Within in my soul…

I always knew what was right.

In time I feel that I have proved.

That I can win, and I can lose.

But above all…

I always last the fight.

I look you in the Eye.

For my tongue it cannot lie.

For I hold a belief inside…

That’ll never leave.

I have learnt as I have aged…

To lose all Jealousy and Rage.

To find peace within myself…

And to Believe.

There have been times in my life...

When I’ve felt insane.

Failed life’s tests…

Gone in circles time again.

Now I don’t doubt my heart…

My mind has grown strong.

And all of the voices of doubt…

Have vanished and gone.

I look you in the Eye…

For my tongue it cannot lie.

For I hold a belief inside…

That’ll never leave.

I have learnt as I have aged…

To lose all Jealousy and Rage.

To find peace within myself…

And to Believe.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Steven Baldry

I have been writing Poetry since I was a teenager. Now in my late thirties I enjoy it more than ever. I find it a wonderful release and it helps me to free my mind and understand myself and my emotions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.