Poets logo

Being Present

A Poem

By J BPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

My face is here

My smile is here

My heart is here

But my mind is meandering

Slowly through my memories

I try to focus on your words

I care so deeply

But my mind is flitting

From to-do list to to-do list

I watch your face

Your words

I see your expressions change

My mind races

What does each small detail mean

Where is your mind now

I want to be here

I am here

I want to engage

But my mind will not submit

Never resting

Never stopping for air

In a few minutes this will be but a memory

For my mind to dance with

While the rest of me is present elsewhere

Never catching up

I cherish our time

But only in memories

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

J B

Stay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.