Poets logo

Being Black and Broke

What Happens When You're Unemployed but Aren't Collecting a Check

By Asya FieldsPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
1

"Ya'll, I'm broke."

A phrase I say with a smirk on my mouth so small I share the same confusion as the person asking me about my funds!

Spilling out of my mouth with my southern dialect.

Accosting me this feeling of guilt for leaving the nest and coming back empty-handed.

Southern, Black, woman made to carry the cares of others in my mouth as I fly out to sea—another world.

But, this bird can't feed ya'll.

I mean you all.

I mean I break down contractions in my sentences, hearing bones cracking in the background.

They call it growing pains.

Limiting the experience of pain when ripping skin from muscle is made normal.

Ripping something that is part of my identity.

Mocking me by calling it a hobby.

You all!

Asking me when I am going to find a job to support myself as I get out of bed, carrying the baggage you all added.

My brown skin painted with black smears below my brown eyes.

I am noticed only when my voice has raised to frequencies your pay scale cant silence.

Frequencies that drown out the negative self-talk.

You all!

Asking me when I am going to write my book.

Still giving tips and tricks on a notepad of passive aggression.

Sticking to every thought in my mind of what I have yet to accomplish as a writer.

My insecurities weigh into every financial discussion.

Still, ya'll approve loans that will stunt my growth.

Your testimonies only work for mocking.

Ya'll coat words with apologies and the ability to mean well—the southern comfort food I digest daily.

The only meal these broke bodies can digest.

My pockets may be empty, but my soul has food for the weak.

Poverty in spirit.

I can see ya'll wasting away.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Asya Fields

Hello! My name is Asya Fields also known as Rumination. I am a Georgia native that started writing at 16. I have found through writing that I can become a more complete version of myself with every word. Remember to repost!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.