Poets logo

Behind Her Eyes

An awaken moment where a young woman finally accept her true self through her eyes, by the colors she embrace after being around people who already know who they are.

By SHAMEKA SAMUELPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I see what you can't

The rare condition I used to despite, embraces me now

Before I couldn't really see but now I do

You may say my mind is playing tricks on me

But it's not, I accepted it the way it is

I see colors everywhere

whenever there is music, when people speak,laugh,smile,even when they make a small gestures to me

There is always a certain color but never one color

Crimson night

Obsidian morning

Turquoise afternoon

And there is a week of madness

That certain week is always an mystery

Where emotions are varied

Anger, happiness, sadness, joy

The colors I wish were there is never to be found

Behind her eyes she sees colors instead of people

She sees them for who they really are

Wishes she was born colorless but not... at the same time

Green is the color that she is ungrateful for

life, renewal, nature, and energy

When she looks in the mirror she don't see that

She is colorless

She don't know her self

Surrounding by people who know exactly who they are

It is shameful for her

Her imagination is wild at least there is colors

Imagine being colored but have no color

Funny right...

Not for me when people ask me

‘What's your favorite color”

You would think it be the color I see the most and enjoy the emotion with

But its not

Its ‘I don't really know”

My mom is a red because she is dangerous woman with a kind heart

My father is a blue because he is an old head father

I'm always around my big family that are not the same

So I see multi color a day

My family together is brown because they are powerful and valuable to the world

Don't get me wrong I can see what they actually look like

I just feel those colors

To be honest i don't think I'm colorless

I think I just didn’t accept the fact that

I'm a rainbow.

Behind her eyes she truly sees her color.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

SHAMEKA SAMUEL

Open for any opportunities!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.