Poets logo

Behind Closed Doors

The Lust Between Them

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished about a year ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
105
Image from Pinterest

Sparks were flying

Hormones were raging

Stolen glances

Seductive smiles

Flirting tongues

Sensual touches

Beasts awoke hungrily

Wanted their appetites pleased

And itches scratched

Golden opportunity

Behind closed doors

Brains stopped working

Morals forgotten

Clothes on the floor

Rhythmic movements

Lustful moans

Climax reached

Hopped in the shower

No amount of soap

Can wash away the sins

Three things can't stay hidden

The sun, the moon, the truth

When the doors get opened

Consequences

Wrecked marriages

Devastated emotions

Childhoods destroyed

Traumas created

Adults enjoyed the thrill

Children are left with to deal

~~~~~

Author's Notes:

I had a dream three days back where my friend was telling me that she has been cheating on her husband with her cousin's husband and my ex-colleague.

That's when I realised that there's a lot of nasty things that happens behind closed doors. This made me remember my childhood trauma.

The adults in my life who were meant to protect me were doing nasty things with each other and with other people. I was just a kid. It took a huge toll on me and I'm still very traumatised by it.

My humble request, please don't ever cheat. If you think you're easily seduced when your partner isn't giving you the attention you need, then please don't get into a relationship or get married.

__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! 🥰 If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:

slam poetry
105

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❤️ Erythrophile ❤️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
🖤 Elegantly Disturbed Mind 🖤

Instagram 🤍 Facebook 🤍 Threads

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (66)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    The way you’ve written this feels so appropriate- fast-paced and almost without thinking, rapid-fire words. “Beasts awoke hungrily Wanted their appetites pleased” is a clever way to show how desires influence actions. Smart and harrowing imagery.

  • Isabella Rose4 months ago

    I'm sorry about the trauma that you faced, My Morbid Friend. Parents have a responsibility to put the children's needs first, and unfortunately, that didn't happen for you. *Healing hugs and love*

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Congrats on the top story!!❤️🎉🎉🎉

  • This poem is a work of art… ❤️✨🕊️ Sadly parents are often traumatised children themselves, desperately trying to feel loved and wanted… and they get drawn into such relationships. There was cheating in my parents marriage all the way through… neither of them knew love.. it was all about toxic attachment. And no one to blame. They didn’t have the awareness we do today. They didn’t have the same privilege we have to read psychology, to understand trauma and how things affected us… They lived in more reactive states…. With far less awareness… Always more love is the answer… more compassion, less judgement 🕊️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    I forgot how sultry this one is and then the note at the end rattled me, I remember reading it but forgot some details since I've last looked at the poem! I love the imagery and pacing of the poem! The sun, the moon, the truth line was my favourite this time around!! You tell such a tantalizing tale Dharrsheena!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Wow! This is powerful. I love: "Three things can't stay hidden/The sun, the moon, the truth." In my future book, if I give you credit and perhaps a small amount of cash, may I use this line? BTW, thank you for leaving a comment for "Vocal Inspirations!" The comment disappeared. LOL. However, the Reader Insight is still there. We have a mutual admiration society!!!

  • F. Leonora Solomon10 months ago

    No amount of soap Can wash away the sins Three things can't stay hidden The sun, the moon, the truth this was amazing, sorry for your trauma❤️

  • MT Poetry10 months ago

    It's a thought provoking piece!! Well done!!!🥰💕🙌

  • Gal Mux10 months ago

    I was enjoying the poem to be honest haha but the personal story at the end got me to introspect on the subject. I'm sorry for your trauma. Know that it wasn't your fault. Great poem.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Love the brevity contrasting with the far reaching, deeply seated, long lasting emotions and hurt. I was surprised by the ending and also the middle; at first I assumed it was the beginning of a morally good relationship! What a ride. I’m so sorry it was based on personal experiences, though; I cannot imagine all that went into this, but can certainly feel it from these verses. Well done! 💜

  • Denise Larkin10 months ago

    Wonderfully expressed words. I can see the trauma.

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    You are so extremely talented it’s unbelievable. I will be rereading this for the rest of the night lol.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Dharrsheena, this was raw and so emotional. I love the seduction in the beginning and the way you reflected the immediate regret afterwards. It was a whole rollercoaster of a journey you took us through! The lines "No amount of soap Can wash away the sins" cuts so deep! Also thank you for sharing an intimate part of yourself with the reader, it was very brave of you! 💜

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    You can really pack an emotional punch- and some surprising twists- in a few words.

  • Chad Umbergerabout a year ago

    Emotionally intense, yet beautiful.

  • Utkarsh Sinhaabout a year ago

    Very well written with a great message.

  • maisie about a year ago

    beautifully done. cheating is a horrible thing that I'm lucky to never have experienced, but I know it hurts a lot more than just the two involved, and you really captured that

  • Avery Meadowsabout a year ago

    Loved the message behind this. Also, loved the play on words and literary devices used. Nice.

  • KuroHoshiabout a year ago

    Really well written and the emotions I can feel it come off the screen

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Powerful.

  • Esther Amiabout a year ago

    This was some good writing! Thanks for sharing this poem, I enjoyed reading every bit of it, and I loved the personal touch at the end.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    By restricting the syllables and word count in each line you managed to convey the furtiveness and guilty thrill that is infidelity. Well done.

  • Muchtar Suryawanabout a year ago

    Loved the twist at the end. Great work!

  • Chua Yuan Hengabout a year ago

    Lust is human nature. But, there must always be self-control. Nice poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.