Poets logo

Before the Nest Was Empty

A Mother's Distraction

By Patti Marrs MagillPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Before the Nest Was Empty
Photo by Laura Ockel on Unsplash

Did I say I want to rest today

I can’t remember when I last did

So bogged down by obligations

They run me ragged and usurp my energy

Racing, leaping, jumping, crying, eating

And why is there a jelly sandwich in the DVD player

Cartoons on loud, play doh on the floor

The never ending “guess what’, and ‘watch this”

I'm the recipient of a thousand questions an hour

One day I turned around and they were grown

Now I am glad I did not stop to rest

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Patti Marrs Magill

Retired Corporate Flight Attendant, pursuing new careers in writing and education. I have 4 adult children, 6 grandchildren, and live in Central California. Currently I am taking on students to tutor in reading and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    The final line brings it all together.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.