Poets logo

Beer Sleep

A collection of poems that creates a story from the first Beer Sleep release.

By Christopher FerreiraPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Nothing Left To Take

I held myself so tight

I watched myself fight

I know I’m alone

And I don’t owe anyone anything

I’m just trying to find my way

Before it all turns to grey

Before we all go

I need to know

I’m begging you

I’m on my own

I’m still breathing air

But I’m on my last breath

And I don’t care

I’ll give it all away

Company Loves Misery

Always asking for something

Just cause we don’t have it

We’re all about it

Until we actually get it

We don’t even want it

We just asked cause it’s not ours

Do we want to be like them?

Constantly begging for attention?

Do we want to act like them?

They don’t even know our names

I guess it’s not that we don’t like ourselves

We just only like the ones we know

Every time the others try to say something

We roll our eyes and we laugh

Cause we don’t care what anyone thinks anyways

Anyways

Anyways

Anyways

Anyways

Avoid The Rain

I don’t remember what I said

I’ll just stay right here in bed

I don’t want to go anywhere

Just tell me what you want

I have no desire for this

So you can have it

I keep trying to be sober

It’s not that nice

But I’m constantly paying the price

I’m getting older every time I shed a tear

I don’t want to live in fear

Just sitting here waiting to die

Tell me warden, can I go out tonight?

I just don’t want to wait for something to happen

I Make My Own

I’ll never like them

I’ll never find them

I’m OK on my own I’ll stand by myself

And I’ll bow to no one

I’ll bow to no one, no

I’ll bow to no one, no

I’ll bow to no one, no

I keep trying to be a part of it

I keep trying to be “normal”

I try so hard to give in

But there’s always that distinct feeling

Something’s not right

This isn’t right

I want to be a part of it

But every time I get close I take a step back

I don’t care anymore

I’ll give it all back

I try to give it back

But you just won’t accept

I don’t want to waste anymore time

I’ll give it back

I'll break it

I’ll even break my own

Because I, I make my

I make my, I make my, own

I, I make my, I make my, I make my own

There’s Strength In Defeat

It’s so easy to give up control

To think they have it all figured out

They know nothing

Grasping at straws

And making us the enemies

When we’re all the victim

I want to feel right

I want to be night

I want to know what it feels like again

I want to feel pain

I want to know them

I want to know everything

We have no control

There is strength in knowing that

We just can’t wait for it

To fall into our laps

For our dreams to become reality

We need to awaken to feel at ease

It’s not up to them, it’s up to us

We got to feel it on our own

Forward, Never Back

Life is scary

It ain't that easy

You have to walk the path

Unknown at all times

And just go through

Looking forward, but never back

I feel like you can put me at ease

Tell me something that makes it better

Tell me all about it

And I’ll give you anything

Forward, never back

Forward, never back

Forward, never back

Forward

Tomorrow always feels the same

I feel like I’ve been owned

Locked up in a hole

Getting old

I’ve always been looking…

Forward, never back

Looking forward, but never back

Looking forward, never back

Looking forward, but never back

Life is scary

It ain't that easy

You have to walk the path

Isolation Therapy

Life is so strange

Living under a microscope

Constantly seeking the approval of others

Life is so unfair

You have to be lighter than air

Or else you step on everyone

They all stare at you

Asking you to show

But they don’t want to know

They don’t want to see it

I’d rather just be alone

Go my own way

Keep myself sane

I’m breaking every rule I know

Breaking every bond I own

Killing everything I see

Cause it does the same thing to me

I got to keep myself sane

I’d rather just be alone

I’ll go my own way

No Apologies

I can’t give it up yet

I feel so comfortable

Hating everything I want to

I feel like I’ve been here before

At this same point in time

Explaining myself in so many ways

But there’s nothing I can do

No apologies are necessary

I have to always remember to stop trying

I can’t give it up yet

I feel so comfortable

Hating everything I want to

I feel like I’ve been here before

At this same point in time

Explaining myself in so many ways

But there’s nothing I can do

No apologies are necessary

No apologies

Never Enough Time

Is everything OK?

Will it be OK?

It’s always been up to us

They can’t decide for you

We only have a few seconds

Before the minute is done

We need to find the way

It’s always been close to the end of the day

Safety Blankets

Personal feelings and ideas

Locked away like a weapon

Shutdown by so many structures and functions

Are they afraid of it?

I keep sharing these things

But it’s like no one is listening

At this point conditioned

They only want what makes them comfortable

We’re all the same, locked away

How do you know what you want to be?

When you question everything you hear?

I don’t know exactly why, but I’ve got to go

Do I go back?

Or do I stay?

Do we continue to hear or feel?

I’m nothing, but I’m real

None of us know why we’re on our own

I guess we just prefer the things we hate the most

We always do what’s best for ourselves

But tell ourselves we’re not selfish

Reassuring Patterns

I don't know what I want to do tomorrow

All I know is what I want to do right now

I keep telling myself I don’t do these things anymore

But I know that’s not really true

It’s always the same

I never know where I’m going

Only where I’m going to be

I have no secrets

I just want to be on my own

I’ve always been alone

We’re born alone

We die alone

And I’m getting used to it by now

In Routines

Why did I come just to tell you no?

Don’t even really know what I want from you

Days go by, and they go so slowly

I think you know where I’m coming from

Somehow we’re what’s wrong

How do you know when something is real?

When you can’t even really feel?

We’re just lying to ourselves constantly

None of us is any different

Indifference Is Bliss

I won’t let them get away with this

Tell me what to do

I have an idea of what you want

And I won’t hold back

Just know this for the future

I don’t let them see all of me

And you should never show them yours

Don’t play games with your life

Don’t wish, just act

Just do what’s on your mind

Don’t care about them

And do what’s best for you

Life’s too short to base it on others

Go back to the beginning

When that innocence was there

That’s where the truth always was

Don't play games with your life

Don't wish, just act

Just do, what's on, your mind

Don't care, about them

I won't let them get away with this

Just tell me what to do

I have an idea of what you want

And I won't hold back

Just know this for the future

I don't let them see all of me

And you should never show them yours

Don't care about them and do what's best for you

Life's too short to base it on others

Go back to the beginning

When that innocence was there

That's where the truth always was

That innocence

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Ferreira

Music

Obsessive listener, multi-instrumentalist/singer.

Multiple projects with over a dozen releases to date.

Horror - www.HorrorBand.com

Beer Sleep - www.BeerSleep.com

Tech

PC Gamer and IT enthusiast/professional.

Other interests

Writing, Comedy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.