Poets logo

Because I looked under a Stone

dark things

By Ward NorcuttPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
Because I looked under a Stone
Photo by Michael Hirsch on Unsplash

I looked under a stone once

and found a number of burrowing things

had left trails of their passage,

so I carefully placed it back.

But the stone,

once disturbed,

no longer fit quite so perfectly

and darkling creatures

wormed their way back up

beyond,

beckoned by a halo of light.

*

And I? Well,

I untucked the tail of my shirt

and un-cinched my belt.

*

They slithered out,

ugly heads reaching and rearing

newborn tears unwept ‘til then.

“Embrace them?” I replied.

And I heaved them up

with open arms, eyes far away focused.

They spilled over my shoulders,

slick with heat.

*

They come and go now as they are

not quite familiar.

social commentarysad poetryheartbreakfact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Ward Norcutt

Playwright and poet.

My goal as a writer is to write thoughtful pieces of prose, poetry and stage plays. Hopefully, the end results are entertaining and engaging, with layers of meaning that make sense to the whole or a theme therein.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice piece❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.