Poets logo

Beauty, sadness, sweetness, sorrow

Where our window opened to the sea

By Louis TPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

It all started with a look

The look you gave me at the bar

I felt your brown eyes on me as we spoke

I turned to you. You did not look away

But searched my eyes for some deep, inner truth

It should have been uncomfortable

But neither of us could bring ourselves to stop

My eyes lingered on yours, and yours on mine

The many sounds around us slowly ceased

I felt myself grow hot, my throat went dry

I held my breath to stop myself from drowning

I furrowed my brows, and looked like I was frowning

After what felt like the longest stretch of time

Your gaze started to drop away from mine

I feared the wall I’d built had startled you

I wished for you to look at me again

I could gaze into those eyes forever

If only you would let me

*

Our love took us ‘cross continents and isles

Over many days, and ‘cross many miles

Of all of them, our favorite place to be

Was where our window opened to the sea

That you gazed on from a moonlit balcony

You watched the silver moon shine big and bright

A black glass sheet of water mirrored night

You stood on the edge, a portrait framed by the window

Your violet hair shone as if at the end of a rainbow

Radiant in the moonlight, a goddess

A soft breeze gently lapping at your dress

Your last defense against sheer nakedness

*

Our love was ice cream and cocktails

Twice the flavors, to make life twice as sweet

Together we tried flavors strange and wonderful

Coconut, watermelon, Nutella

Rosewater, aniseed, stracciatella

I tasted yours, and you tasted mine

If one of us didn’t like it, the other one would

If neither of us liked it, we shared the one we did

Drinking cocktails as we peered towards the sky

And sitting beside you, I felt like I could fly

*

We sat together on a beach

With only the stars for cover

Waves roared and whispered by turns

As the sea queen moved to calm her stormy lover

Milky foam flowed across darkling pebbles

Glistening with a silver sheen

You sat on my lap as waves lapped against the shore

Kisses in the dark

I slowly traced the outline of your hips

And tasted limoncello on your lips

*

I love the sad songs we listened to together

I gazed into your eyes, and saw them shining

With you, every cloud had a silver lining

Why does sad music make me so happy?

The beauty of sadness, the sweetness of sorrow

I only wish I could see you again tomorrow

I yearn for you, and yet you’ve gone so far

Ever since that look you gave me at the bar

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Louis T

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.