Poets logo

Beautiful Trauma

I try to make my dream realm sharp as blades, green and vivid, dewy pink in waking hours.

By Joe NastaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Grid of wooden slats,

Oddly translucent vinyl roofs.

My open window.

Lol I’m thinking about someone again!

Willpower, urges, control, planning.

I don’t want to fuck a stranger

I want to fuck— I don’t think

I will. It’s raining on the covered

Section of our back patio

And I love the sounds.

My eyes still sore with sleep.

Small feet, a squirrel, its blurry

Shadow. The sight was wonderful,

First upright then reversed.

Two days in a row I pulled the Chariot

And I know what I’m supposed to feel

but I don’t think I will.

I promised not to talk

About the sky but it was gorgeous.

The single cloud streak, power lines, pieces.

I won’t talk about it.

No one will believe me

So I return to my dream

Of sitting alone in the grass.

Can’t we be simple this once?

The river running, words

Running but the sky in

Pieces. I can’t remember

Pink, there is just an empty

Awe. What happened to me?

I know it doesn’t matter but

I try to remember everything.

I try to make my dream realm

sharp as blades, green and vivid,

dewy pink in waking hours.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Joe Nasta

Hi! I'm a queer multimodal artist writing love poems in Seattle, one half of the art and poetry collective Eat Yr Manhood, and head curator of Stone Pacific Zine. Work in The Rumpus, Occulum, Peach Mag, dream boy book club, and others. :P

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.